Yes, I admit it, the title is a bit clickbait. But would you have found it strange?
The disastrous final chapter of the Battlefield franchise is being dragged, season after season, towards the inevitable shutdown of the servers. To revitalize a bit the experience of the most stoic players who continue to spend time on 2042, the development team has shared its latest update video, revealing a series of free access periods in December for players on all platforms who will be able to experience all the game’s (few) offers for a limited time. The game will also see a series of new promised content arrive for players in the next two seasons and beyond, including reworked maps, a greater number of Vault weapons, and the return to class identities for Specialists.
The full reveal of Season 3 is coming soon, with another new Specialist, a new map, a new Battle Pass, additional content for Portal, plus new hardware technologies, events, experiences and more. Moreover, the team is already in the pre-production phase of the new content that will arrive after Season 4 next year... but are we really sure? The fear is that, once the legal obligations are fulfilled — namely, delivering the minimum pre-purchased content to players via pre-orders — 2042 will be essentially abandoned permanently, left as one might say in life-support, like a terminally ill patient.

All standard content levels of the Battle Pass can be unlocked by playing for free, and players can purchase a Battle Pass Premium to access an even greater number of levels. Players who choose to buy Battlefield 2042 (folly) will be able to continue playing with their in-game purchases and earned progress.
Let’s take a look at the exact free play periods for each platform:
-
Xbox: from 1 December at 21:01 CET to 4 December at 20:59 CET
-
Steam: from 19:00 CET on 1st December to 19:00 CET on 5th December
-
PlayStation: from 17:00 CET on 16 December to 17:00 CET on 23 December
This content is provided by YouTube. To view it, you must allow external content. Activation may result in data being shared with the third party.